Opportunities that few cities receive are opening up in the centre of Stuttgart between the Main Train Station and Rosenstein Park: After construction of the new station, a new city district can be developed and designed from urban, social, and environmental perspectives on the freed-up track areas. Citizens have been invited to participate in this.

The Heller Designstudio has developed and implemented an interactive city planning game using Unity, a so-called serious game.

The aim of the game is to convey the basic principles of urban planning, with all its dependencies, to children from 7 years old, and to adults. At the same time the new Rosenstein neighbourhood will be presented, and future residents’ preferences will be determined.

Interactive

urbanism

Wohnen01
DSC06865

The player chooses to start from one of three archetypal urban plans. Does he want live in a compact, green, or water neighbourhood?

And then the urban planning begins. You can choose the weighting for the urban factors using the dynamic controls. For example if you want more housing, the other factors, such as work, green space, or public space, will automatically be somewhat reduced.

Our neighbourhood automatically adapts to the factors, regenerating itself each time.

If you are satisfied with your choice, it will now actually be introduced into your own neighbourhood. Due to the previously selected choice, you can now place your buildings, like in Sim City. You get to experience your neighbourhood, where you might be living later.

A camera takes you up close to the goings-on in your neighbourhood. Once you are satisfied with the distribution, the neighbourhood will be stored and sent to you.

Mitten im Zentrum der Stadt Stuttgart, zwischen Hauptbahnhof und Rosensteinpark, eröffnen sich Chancen, die nur wenige Großstädte erhalten: Auf den freiwerdenden Gleisflächen kann nach Bau des neuen Bahnhofs ein neuer Stadtteil unter urbanen, sozialen und ökologischen Gesichtspunkten entwickelt und gestaltet werden. Sich daran zu beteiligen, sind die Bürgerinnen und Bürger eingeladen.

Das Heller Designstudio entwickelte und realisierte dazu ein interaktives Stadtplanungsspiel auf Unity Basis, ein sogenanntes Serious Game.

Ziel des Spiels ist es die grundlegenden Prinzipien der Stadtplanung, mit all ihren Abhängigkeiten, Kindern ab 7 Jahren und Erwachsenen zu vermitteln. Gleichzeitig wird das neue Rosensteinviertel vorgestellt und ermittelt welche Präferenzen die zukünftigen Bewohner des Viertel haben.

 

Interaktive Stadtplanung

Wohnen01
DSC06865

Der Spieler wählt zu Beginn eine von drei archetypischen Stadtplanungen aus. Möchte er in einem kompakten, grünen oder in einem Wasserviertel leben.

Danach geht es schon in die Stadtplanung. Anhand von dynamischen Reglern kann man die Gewichtung der Stadtfaktoren wählen. Möchte man z.b mehr Wohnraum schaffen wird automatisch an den anderen Faktoren etwas abgezogen wie zb. Arbeit, Grünflächen oder öffentlicher Raum.

Unser Viertel passt sich automatisch den Faktoren an und generiert sich jedesmal neu.

Ist man zufrieden mit seiner Auswahl geht es nun wirklich in das eigene Viertel. Aufgrund der zuvor getroffenen Auswahl kann man nun im Sim City Style seine Gebäude platzieren. Man erlebt sein Viertel wo man später wohnen könnte.

Eine Kamera bringt einen nah an das Geschehen im eigenen Viertel heran.

Sobald man zufrieden ist mit der Verteilung ist wird das Viertel gespeichert und einem nach Hause geschickt.